2021 DPC

Annual

Grantees

Conference

June 28-30

SCHEDULE AT A GLANCE

Register Here

DAY 1 - June 28
Platform open & close:
10:00 am - 6:00 pm EDT
7:00 am - 3:00 pm PDT
4:00 am - 12:00 pm HST

Dr. Alison Gammie
Dr. Marie Bernard
 
Panel Discussion on Faculty Breakout Groups

DAY 2 - June 29
Platform open & close:
11:30 am - 7:30 pm EDT
8:30 am - 4:30 pm  PDT
5:30 am - 1:30 pm HST

DPC DaTA Overviews

Panel Discussion on Effort in the
Context of the Pandemic
 Breakout Groups

DAY 3 - June 30
Platform open & close:
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm EDT
9:00 am - 5:00 pm PDT
6:00 am - 2:00 pm HST


Keynote: Dr. Farah Alibay, NASA
Open Networking space available



Institutional Change:
Examining cross-cutting impacts and approaches across the Diversity Program Consortium

Register Here

PREVIEW DAY: FRIDAY, JUNE 25
3:30 - 6:00 p.m. EDT | 12:30 – 3:00 p.m. PDT | 9:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HI

JOIN CONFERENCE PLATFORM ORIENTATION
Every 15 minutes beginning 3:30–6 p.m. EDT | 12:30–3 p.m. PDT | 9:30 a.m.–12 p.m. HST

Get familiar with our conference platform Remo by 'dropping in' on Preview Day. Orientation sessions will start every 15 minutes, beginning at 3:30 p.m. EDT| 12:30 p.m. PDT| 9:30 a.m. HST, for a total of 10 orientation sessions. Please sign on at the top of each 15 minute block to be invited in. When you enter, technical experts will assist you in learning the platform's two modes: conversation and presentation mode, as well as how to join a breakout hall.

Then, stay on to meet the creators behind the Face Of Science series at our panel, which repeats every 30 minutes, beginning at 3:45 p.m. EDT| 12:45 p.m. PDT| 9:45 a.m. HST. The final panel will be held at 5:15 p.m. EDT.


MEET THE FACE OF SCIENCE SERIES CREATORS
Every 30 minutes beginning 3:45–6 p.m. EDT | 12:45–3 p.m. PDT | 9:45 a.m.–12 p.m. HST







You’ve seen the Face Of Science video series—now meet the team who put it together. The panel features the Communication and Dissemination Co-Director for the CEC at UCLA Hansook Oh; executive producer and editor Jameelah Nuriddin; director Alethea Root; and composer EmmoLei Sankofa. The creative team will discuss how the Enhance Science project began, the steps they took from concept to execution, the challenges of the project, and why promoting inclusive excellence in science can be enhanced through incorporating art—highlighting the importance of including the ‘A’ in STEAM.

Schedule-at-a-Glance by time zone

Platform Orientation Materials

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

Day 1

Practical, emerging strategies and proven processes for engaging postdocs and junior faculty in research development training and grant applications

Discussing ways to identify and measure initial impacts of grant training and mentorship on faculty promotion and retention

Extending impact & scope of Institutional Hallmarks in the context of institutional change

Creating change within institutions by articulating compelling conversations with colleagues and leaders

Leveraging what was learned in COVID-19 modifications to bridge virtual & in-person experiences & mentoring

Integrating family or cultural & maybe even local contexts to institutionalize interventions that support student success

Supporting student resilience through interventions while working to change institutions

Practical ways to link developing faculty research grantsmanship skills as a way to build institutional capacity for research and opportunities for students

DR. MARIE A. BERNARD 
Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity
National Institutes of Health


Marie A. Bernard, MD, is the Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity (COSWD) and leads the NIH’s effort to promote diversity, inclusiveness, and equity throughout the biomedical research enterprise. Dr. Bernard has played key leadership roles in a broad variety of NIH activities to further diversity, including serving as a co-chair of the UNITE initiative, and leading the development of the NIA Health Disparities Research Framework, which guides NIA research in this area. Prior to joining NIH, she was the endowed professor and founding chair of the Donald W. Reynolds Department of Geriatric Medicine at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, Oklahoma City, and Associate Chief of Staff for Geriatrics and Extended Care at the Oklahoma City Veterans Affairs Medical Center.




DR. ALISON GAMMIE
Director of the Division of Training, Workforce Development and Diversity
National Institute of General Medical Sciences at NIH


Alison Gammie, PhD, leads the Diversity Program Consortium and directs training, career development and diversity-building activities for undergraduate through faculty. Prior to coming to NIGMS, Dr. Gammie was a senior lecturer at Princeton University, where, in addition to teaching and mentoring, she served as an academic advisor, an associate member at the Cancer Institute of New Jersey, and director of the university’s Program for Diversity and Graduate Recruitment.






DR. FARAH ALIBAY
Systems Engineer – M2020 Mission, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Farah Alibay, PhD, has been a Systems Engineer at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) for the past seven years. She is currently a systems engineer on the Perseverance rover, which landed on Mars on February 18, 2021. She has held a number of tasks on this mission, including testing its mobility system, supporting preparations and leading tactical shifts for surface operations, as well as being the operations interface for the Mars helicopter, Ingenuity. In April 2021, Ingenuity performed a first-ever powered flight on another planet. Prior to joining the M2020 team, she worked on the InSight Mars Lander, as well as its companion mission, the Mars Cube One (MarCO) CubeSats. Dr. Alibay earned an undergraduate and a master’s degree from the University of Cambridge in the U.K., and a PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, all in Aerospace Engineering.

Day 2

**ATTENDEES MUST ENTER THROUGH THIS WEBSITE FOR ALL CONFERENCE EVENTS (PORTAL COMING SOON)

View Our

Conference Program

Hansook Oh

EmmoLei Sankofa

Jameelah Nuriddin

Alethea Root

CONFERENCE SPEAKERS